Salon review: Little Beyond Hair

As Joan Crawford rightly said, “I think that the most important thing a woman can have – next to talent, of course – is her hairdresser.” From local parlourwalis to first world hair aficionados, a number of people have experimented with my tresses. I let them because it was just hair, and fortunately, my hair doesn’t take too long to grow out. However, none of these styling connoisseurs succeeded in giving me ‘a cut above’. Only during the little walk of fame I did on my way home that the hair looked good. Once back, those tendrils curled and twirled, making me look like the autistic Priyanka Chopra in Barfi. Blimey!

12189068_1040973225934407_3944327030481195048_n
The rustic salon interiors

A couple of weeks back I happened to drop in at Little Beyond Hair, a pretty little salon in suburban Mumbai. And I must tell you, the place is gorgeous, like a nice quaint French cafe with tastefully done interiors. There’s an exposed brick wall with vintage, pastel-coloured frames adorned with flowers, another one with a bicycle wheel, and a pink one with fantastically feminine graffiti. What’s surprising is that the salon decor is conceptualised by its 23-year-old owner Tejal Shah. “I always dreamt of having my own hair studio during my journey in the hair industry. From the beginning, I was clear in my head about its distressed, offbeat look, unlike the typically elegant or commercial vibe that most salons exude. This is exactly how I imagined it to be!” she shares.

IMG_20160207_140012
Posing post haircut with my new hairdresser

After patiently listening to the rant about my unmannerly, sometimes frizzy locks that sit heavily on my nape, Kinjal suggested me the Moroccanoil Hair Spa. It began with the usual spa hairwash and spa cream application, but it was the oh-so-blissful head, back and hand massage that took the treatment to a whole new level. Theapist Jyoti Shinde thoroughly pressed and kneaded my shoulders and back to melt away stubborn knots and relieve my body of all the stiffness. The 30-minute procedure ended with a deep conditioning hairwash. “Most people prefer getting a nice blow-dry post hairwash, but I don’t recommend that. What is the point of infusing locks with moisture and then taking it all away with a blow-dry?” points out Tejal. Post hair spa, I expressed my customary desire to get a ‘makeover’ without compromising on the hair length. I expected Tejal to finish things off with a quick trim, but she surprised me with a killer look. I must add that the crown is her USP, she creates magic with it.

IMG_20160207_140533
Happy feet!

Once I was done drumming my experience on social media, we moved over to the next treatment: the Crystal Spa Pedicure. Aesthetician Rupali Pise did a brilliant job with the cutting, filing, cuticle and nail cleaning and scrubbing. The result? Soft, impeccable feet. After applying the moisturising mask, she cling wrapped my feet to prevent them from drying up. Undisturbed by the number of walk-in clients, she continued unwaveringly with the 75-minute ritual. The best parts about the crystal pedicure were the feet softening crystals that I couldn’t stop obsessing over and the rejuvenating foot massage.

What really impressed me about Little Beyond Hair was that the team doesn’t slap its treatments on its clients, and it doesn’t rush through the treatment. “Being a stand-alone salon, we have the freedom to choose our own style and pattern of working. Having said that, we don’t like to compromise on our service timings. If a particular service requires an hour and we have clients waiting, we make sure the quality doesn’t suffer,” affirms Tejal.

After almost five hours of pampering, I was ready to push all my work to the next day and take my afternoon siesta. I stepped out, promising to return soon.

p.s. It’s been two weeks since the haircut, and I still love my hair!

Address: Shop No. 1, Sadguru Supreme, V. L Road., Mulund West – 400080
To book an appointment, call 097687 78766

One thought on “Salon review: Little Beyond Hair

Leave a Reply

